PLCAC Student Award Program


Pipe Line Contractors Association of Canada Student Award Program

The 2016-2017 PLC Student Award Program is now closed  
The 2017-2018 PLCAC Student Award Program Application form will be available on-line in the fall of 2017.


About the Program:

The Pipe Line Contractors Association of Canada student awards program works to assist students entering post-secondary education programs. 

PLCAC allocates awards in the fall of each year to a son or daughter of parents or guardians who derive their principal income from pipeline construction.

In 2016, the PLCAC executive committee awarded 24 students attending full-time study programs at recognized universities or colleges. This brings the total number of students assisted by this program to 209 since the award program was established in 1974

To Qualify:

  • An applicant must be a son, daughter or ward of a person whose principal income is derived from the pipeline construction industry.

  • The parent or guardian of the applicant must be employed by or have a history of employment with a company who is a member of the Pipe Line Contractors Association of Canada.

  • The applicant must provide proof of full-time enrollment in a program leading to a diploma or degree in any field at a recognized Canadian college or university. Applications received from students enrolled in post-graduate programs may also be considered. 

Click here for a list of current PLCAC members.

The Wayne E. McArthur Memorial Award



This annual award, in honour of longtime PLCAC Associate Member, the late Wayne McArthur, recognizes a student who has demonstrated leadership in their community along with achieving academic success. This award is sponsored by Acklands-Grainger, Inc.


The Jack Cressey Future Leader Award



This award provides recognition to future pipeline construction industry leaders.  Individual candidates that have demonstrated significant leadership qualities are chosen by their employer and nominated for the award.

These outstanding individuals will have made some major contribution, or have accomplished some major undertaking that has added significant value to their employer's product or service.

Candidates will not yet have attained executive status and can be from any area within a Member's operations, such as accounting, estimating, sales or field operations.

The Jack Cressey Future Leadership Award winner is recognized at the Annual General Meeting and Convention with the presentation of an attractive framed "Certificate of Recognition".

Contact the PLCAC office for nomination information.

2017 Jack Cressey Future Leader Award Presented to Bryan Johnston of Aecon

Bryan Johnston from Aecon. was presented with the Jack Cressey Future Leader Award on May 17, 2017 at the PLCAC Annual Convention.


The Jack Cressey Future Leader Award was established in 1995 in memory of Jack Cressey, board member and past president of the PLCAC who was regarded as a strong leader, with vision, integrity, and drive.


This award recognizes leadership and is open to all Regular Association membersí employees, from any segment of the company, who have not yet attained executive status and has demonstrated leadership qualities of significance to their company.


Bryan Johnston is currently Operations Manager for Aecon.


Bryan Johnston, Aecon with
PLCAC Immediate Past President
Neil Waugh

"Both his team and his clients respond well to his style of leadership. He is always the first to redirect credit for his own successes to his team, but it is clear that his leadership has been a significant contributor to the growth of our business", says Eric MacDonald, Senior V.P., Aecon Utilities. "Through his lead-by-example style and his team oriented approach, Bryan has demonstrated the characteristics of a strong leader, positioning him to take on more and more senior roles in the Aecon organization.

Past Recipients Jack Cressey Future Leader Award

2016 Marcel Singh, NPL Canada Ltd.
2015 Darel Malcolmson, Michels Canada Co.
2014 Tom Patocka, O.J. Pipelines Canada
2013 Phil Murden, Robert B. Somerville Co. Limited
2012 Ryan Hoyle, Aecon Utilities


Jason Thompson, Michels Canada Co.


Dustin Medori, Academy Construction & Maintenance Ltd.


Jeffery R. Rasberry, Aecon Infrastructure 


David J. Moore, Aecon Infrastructure


Dean Kilgour, Waschuk Pipe Line Construction Ltd.
Jarrod Serre, Aecon Civil & Utilities


Chris Hudson, Aecon Civil & Utilities


Paul G. Mease, BFC Utilities


Brian Farrel, BFC Utilities
Kelly Gillam, Atlantic Pipeline Resources


Rob Elliott, T.W. Johnstone Company Limited


Sean Bell, Robert B. Somerville Co. Limited
Ted Yu, Marine Pipeline Construction of Canada (1993)


Neil Waugh, BFC Utilities


Shawn Oswald, Marine Pipeline Construction of Canada (1993)

Suite 201, 1075 North Service Road West
Oakville, ON L6M 2G2
T. (905) 847-9383  F. (905) 847-7824
Pipe Line Contractors Association Home Page